I think a lot of people were worried about Johan Santana in the fact that he hadn’t pitched like he can as of late. I think tonight silenced those people as he threw 8 strong innings, giving up just 3 hits while walking one. He struck out 9. He was in Cy Young form as he strode to his 14th win this season.

Before I get to the game, I want to take a moment to ask my readers to spread my link around. Put it in your signature in your email, tell friends about it, whatever. I need to get more daily readers. I did get my first search engine hit on the new site, it was “twinkies twins”.

Also, in case you missed it, I discussed pitching prospects in Monday’s post. The Twins have no more Monday games this month, so look for hitting prospects next week and something else the following week.

Michael Cuddyer went 2-for-4 including a game breaking, two out, two RBI single in the bottom of the 8th. This was made possible by a double steal; Luis Castillo to third and Joe Mauer to second, without a throw to either base. It was also made possible thanks to an incredible slide by Joe into home.

Joe Nathan pitched the 9th, not getting a save or anything because he went into the 9th with a 4-0 lead and gave up a run to make it a save situation if someone else came in. He gave up a walk and a hit to score a run, and that’s kind of disappointing from a usually lights-out closer. I wanted Pat Neshek to pitch the 9th, but alas Gardy chose to go with his closer in a non save opportunity.

Torii Hunter had a pretty nice hit in the bottom of the 8th too, an RBI single. It might have led to more runs but Justin Morneau got thrown out at third, because he rounded second too much. This won’t come as a surprise, but Torii’s hit came on the first pitch of the at bat. I thought his earlier at bat where he got a hit was much better, ending up making the count full before hitting a single.

Winning that game put a stop to the Indians’ 6-game winning streak they had going into the game.

Tomorrow I will post Johan’s career stats after the All-Star break; they’ll amaze you.

