I’ve come across a couple of baseball websites that are pretty interesting, and I want to share them with you. Also, a couple of recent signings.

The first one is baberuth.com. The website administrator calls it “The Official Web Site of the Sultan of Swat”. I was looking through quotes of Babe’s, and found these to be the best:

“Just one (superstition). Whenever I hit a home run, I make certain I touch all four bases.”

“Every strike brings me closer to the next home run.”

“If I’d tried for them dinky singles I could’ve batted around six hundred.”

“I know, but I had a better year than Hoover.”
— Reported reply when a reporter objected that the salary Ruth was demanding ($80,000) was more than that of President Herbert Hoover’s ($75,000).

and an interesting fact about him: Batted: Left (used a custom built Louisville Slugger model R-43. The bat was 36” 42 oz.)

The second site is baseballrace.com. At this website, you pick a year, a division, whether or not you want to include the Wild Card, and tinker with a few other settings to see a day-by-day “race” within that division. There are no spectacular graphics, just arrows representing a team from that division. It adds a line for eliminate, meaning when that line passes a team, that team was eliminated from the race on that particular day. It has a line for lead, which just shows what team is in the lead. And the last line is for clinch, so whichever team is at or past that line has clinched the division. It’s fun to watch for the ’06 season in the AL Central, seeing the Twins back so far and slowly climbing towards the front.

Last Friday the Mets and pitcher Tom Glavine agreed to a 1-year deal worth $10.5 million. He has an option for next season that is $9 million, if he pitches 160 innings, and increases in price the more innings he pitches. He was a 15-game winner in 2006. He’s been to 7 All-Star Games and has won 2 Cy Young Awards.

Center Fielder Dave Roberts, who played for the Padres in ’05 and ’06, has signed with the San Francisco Giants at a rate of $6 million a year for three years. In 129 games last year, he batted .293 with 2 homeruns and 44 RBIs. He did have 49 stolen bases and 13 triples, though. The price of players this offseason continue to amaze me. Nobody is really worth what they’re being paid.

As you may have noticed, I’ve added two new features to the blog. They can be found on the right-hand side of your screen, all the way at the bottom. The first one is a series of pictures of some Twins. Nothing fancy, just thought it might be nice to add some pictures to the blog. The second addition is a “blog worth” picture. It tells me what my blog is worth, in dollars. I assume they base that on how many views the website receives. As of now, my blog is worth $0. I guess nobody took me up on my offer that I posted here.

