Sidney Ponson had an outing that I think a lot of people were expecting (bad), but I’m not sure they expected it to be that bad. He gave up 10 hits and 8 runs (all earned, unfortunately for his ERA) in 5 and 2/3 innings. He walked 3, struck out 2, and gave up 2 homers. I didn’t start watching the game until the 5th inning, but others have said it seemed like he was painting the corners of the strikezone pretty good and not getting the calls that Yankee pitcher Carl Pavano was getting. If that’s the case, that’s really unfortunate.

Jason Kubel had an RBI single in the 5th and Joe Mauer and Torii Hunter each had doubles in the 7th inning to scrap together our only runs.

I know I’m behind on the Luis Castillo and Hunter stats, but the sidebar isn’t updating like it should and I need to find an official website that tracks infield hits, because Luis got another one last night and I don’t honestly know how many that is for the season. Please bear with me as I get that fixed. By the way, when Hunter hit that double, he hit the first pitch he saw 🙂

Boof Bonser faces the Yanks today at 7 PM central time. Not sure why they started at 6 last night, but the time is back to normal.

edit: WOW, some big news here: both Rondell White and Jeff Cirillo are headed to the disabled list. Rondell for that calf strain I told you about, and Jeff..well, I don’t know. I heard he needed surgery, but for what I don’t know. The Twins are calling up OF Josh Rabe (who had a nice spring with the team and performed well beyond expectations last year) and IF Alexi Casilla, which is stupid because he’ll sit on the bench and fill in at a position that Luis Rodriguez could play, when Alexi could be in AAA playing every day. But, I guess that’s why I’m not the GM of this team.

