I didn’t think I’d be saying it when he was signed, but Ramon Ortiz is undefeated and has an ERA lower than that of the defending AL Cy Young winner. Sure it’s only 2 games, but Ortiz threw 8, count ’em 8, full innings last night, and only allowed 1 run. Remember, this is against the team who scored 8 and 10 in the two previous games of the series. He also allowed just 3 hits, all singles. He walked 1 and struck out 4.

It was a tie ballgame heading into the bottom of the 8th and Ortiz had thrown 93 pitches, most likely done for the night. Luis Castillo lead off the inning with a walk, and with Nick Punto batting, he stole second. Punto struck out, but then the Twins started going. Joe Mauer hit a single that allowed Castillo to score, and then Mauer advanced to second on the throw. Michael Cuddyer hit a single to score Mauer, and Justin Morneau followed up with a double to score Michael. Torii Hunter hit a double to score Morneau, and that was it. The Twins had the lead.

Joe Nathan came in to make sure we didn’t lose the lead and pitched a shutout 9th, but it wasn’t a save situation for him.

It’s been said early this morning that lefty Glen Perkins has been called up to replace catcher Chris Heintz. Glen would go to the bullpen to help out Jesse Crain, who apparently has been pitching too much, and Juan Rincon who is not with the team because of a death in his family.

SportsIllustrated.com ran a story yesterday saying Johan Santana had turned down a 2-year extension worth $18 million per year. Santana immediately denied that, and Joe Christensen got an interview with him right away. I suggest you take a look at it, but I’ll paste my favorite part: “I’m going to be honest with you,” [Johan] said. “I would like to stay here forever. Now, how many years would they be willing to offer? I don’t really know. Hopefully I could do lifetime. That would answer your question because that’s what I would like to do.”

Those are the sweetest words I think I’ve ever heard.

