I apologize for not doing individual game recaps, but I’ll go through each game in this post.. 
 
 

Game 1: The Twins took game 1 of the series, winning it 4-3. Scott Baker made his second start of the year for the Twins and lasted only 5 and 1/3 innings, throwing 92 pitches in the process (61 of those for strikes). He only gave up 5 hits, but allowed 3 runs and walked 4. He struck out 2 and allowed a solo homer to Frank Thomas. Joe Nathan got his 10th save of the year, throwing 24 pitches in his 1 inning of work. He allowed 2 hits, but also struck out 2.. 
 
The team was down 2-1 in the bottom of the 5th when Michael Cuddyer hit his 6th homer of the year, this one with a man on base. Justin Morneau and Torii Hunter each had an RBI in the game. Luis Castillo was 2-for-3 with 3 runs scored.. 
 
 
 
 

Game 2: I periodically checked into game 2 on the radio, and at one point I heard them say the Twins were down by 4 late in the game (if you’ve ever listened to radio broadcasts of the game, you know how the announcers fail to mention the score and/or inning when you’re listening), so I stopped checking in. Well, when I got home, I found that the Twins had rallied and the game ended after 13 innings, with the Twins falling 9-8. Ramon Ortiz started the game, and somehow lasted through 6 innings. He gave up 10 hits, allowed 6 runs, only walked 1 and struck out 4, but game up 3 homers. Two 2-run dingers and a solo shot. The team used all 7 of its relievers last night, including new call ups Jason Miller and Carmen Cali. Now about Cali, I have yet to see a news article that says when he was called up, but I’m assuming it was to fill Glen Perkins‘ spot; I’m not sure though. Ok, after some searching, you can read about who was called up for who in this article. Julio DePaula was terrible in his third game in the bigs, not even recording an out and facing 2 batters. He threw 9 pitches, only 1 of them for a strike. He walked both batters and a run was charged to him when Cali gave up a double. Pat Neshek ended a 17-inning scoreless streak when he gave up a home run in the 11th. Matt Guerrier got the official loss when he gave up a run in the top of the 13th.. 
 

The big story of the night was Michael Cuddyer who went 4-for-5 with 5 RBI. He hit his 7th homer, a 2-run home run in the 8th to jumpstart the comeback. He also drove in 2 with a single in the bottom of the 9th to tie it up.. 
 
 
 
 

Game 3: This game was the series decider and we had Carlos Silva on the mound. Not surprisingly he gave up a run in the second inning to get the team in comeback mode right away. He got some help in the bottom of the third though, when Justin Morneau made a Nick Punto-esque slide into first (although it wasn’t needed for him to be safe) while the pitcher threw the ball into the bullpen to allow two runs to score, one unearned due to the throwing error. Morneau would add runs in the 6th when he hit an upperdeck, you-knew-it-was-gone-when-he-hit-it home run to add a little insurance. Joe Nathan came in and threw just 10 pitches to record his 11th save of the year and just his 4th of the month (although 3 of those have been in the past 4 days).. 
 
 

The Twins are now 24-25, just 1 game better than they were last year through their first 49 games.. 
 
 

The Twins will now play a 3-game series at home against the White Sox. It’s possible that Joe Mauer will be back before that series is over with.. 
 
 

It seems that Matt Garza may be a little too full of himself. In this article, he blames his early-season failures to being told to throw more offspeed stuff. Well, I’ll let this quote do the talking:. 
 

“I know how to pitch,” Garza said Friday by phone. “I didn’t get up here because I don’t know how to pitch. I said (to Rochester pitching coach Stu Cliburn), ‘Just let me pitch. You guys just relax. Yeah, I was in a funk for April. My bad. I’m sorry I didn’t deal with disappointment the way you guys thought I was going to.”.

 
 
Hopefully he realizes that he doesn’t know everything about pitching, and he’s only going to learn the rest from his coaches and people that have been around a lot longer than he has.. 
 
 

I’ve been thinking about getting a website for this blog, so that I can have a little more freedom as far as layout and other things go. So, my question for you readers is, if I do purchase a domain name, what should it be? The first one that comes to mind is twinsnottwinkies.com, which is available. That is obviously the most logical choice, but if any of you have clever ideas I can check if they’re available to buy or not. For instance, johanisourhero.com or mountiemorneau.com are available as well. Please comment or email me with your ideas, serious or not.

