I apologize for not writing anything on Saturday’s 3-2 win but I’ve been getting ready for my trip to Kansas City. I leave around noon today and we’re going to watch 2 Twins games, the Tuesday night one and the Wednesday night one. It should be really fun and we’ll see Boof Bonser and Johan Santana pitch, although I think it would be really sweet to see Scott Baker pitch. The way he’s been pitching lately is incredible. I’ll be honest and say I didn’t think he had it in him from last year and the start of this year. But since June 20th, he’s had only one bad start – the start where he gave up 7 runs in 5 innings in a game that the Twins won by a final score of 20-14 – and 5 quality ones (out of a possible 8). In one of the other starts he gave up 2 runs in 5 innings and the other one he gave up 4 runs in 7 innings.

 

All that includes yesterday’s performance, an 8-inning doozie in which he gave up 0 runs and only 4 hits. He walked 2 and struck out 4, but most importantly didn’t make the mistake of giving up a homer to make things difficult when runs were very scarce. His start was capped by a great defensive play started by himself. The video is on YouTube and I’ve embedded it at the end of the post.

 

The lone run came on an Alexi Casilla ground-rule double that scored Jason Kubel (who went 2-for-2 with 2 walks and a run scored in the game). They were really the only highlights; Michael Cuddyer, Justin Morneau, and Torii Hunter combined to go 0-for-12 with 4 strikeouts and 5 men left on base (all left on by Cuddyer).

 

Carlos Silva throws tonight in the final game of the Cleveland series. The Twins are only 4.5 games behind the Indians and still have 6 games left against them, as well as 6 against Detroit. It’s definitely within the realm of possibility for the Twins to win the division, but the pitching needs to continue like it has and the bats could definitely wake up a bit, it won’t hurt anything.

 

And just a note, Lew Ford was sent down the other day in favor of reliever Carmen Cali. Lew really wasn’t being used a whole lot, and truthfully I would have rather seen Rondell White go down instead of Lew, but I’m not Terry Ryan so obviously that isn’t within my power. I have a feeling it’s only temporary though as the bullpen had worked 8 innings between Johan’s last start and Matt Garza‘s start on Saturday.

 

There won’t be a computer for me to post from, so my next post will be Friday and will recap the whole series. With a little luck I’ll be able to post some pictures, too.

 

 

