Alright, so there’s literally no news circling the Twins. Well, Jason Kubel and his wife welcomed a healthy baby boy, but…unless he’s a future Minnesota Twin, it’s irrelevant to the blog..I think. Although, I’m “using” an Aaron Gleeman blog staple and linking to random things for today, none of them regarding baseball. So Owen Michael Kubel does have relevance, for today at least.

 

Actually, there is some baseball news. The Twins were able to avoid arbitration with pitcher Matt Guerrier by signing him to a 1-year, $950,000 contract. The team had offered him $750k and Guerrier was asking for a shade over a cool $1 million. Still, our most consistent reliever (other than Pat Neshek) last year, he’ll double his salary from 2007.

 

And one more baseball bit, check out this article that talks about Kevin Slowey and his newfound friendship with almost-Hall-of-Famer Bert Blyleven.

 

-I’m gonna start off by linking to a blog maintained by one of my most-frequent commenters (not that it’s hard to hold that position), Nato. He’s only got two posts, but one is a semi-highlight of some great music released in 2007, including one of my favorites, but more on that in a bit.  

 

-I lied. Truly though, this is the last thing baseball in this post. TwinsFest is right around the corner. By that I mean, it starts tonight. I’m hopefully going tomorrow, and I’ve never been there so it should be a lot of fun. Autographs with current, future, and former Twins, as well as pictures and looks at the new stadium…it’s a great pick-me-up until Spring Training starts.

 

-I can’t believe I’m actually going to mention this, but a movie called Meet the Spartans comes out tonight. It’s a spoof on…well basically the most popular movies of 2007, although it focuses on 300. Movies like this are made bad on purpose, yet most of the time they make people laugh anyway. I must admit I’m in the laughing crowd, but I’m still undecided on whether or not I should actually see it in theaters.

 

-Ok, remember when I said that Nato’s blog included one of my favorites, but more on that in a bit? Well, it’s been a bit, so I get to explain. On July 3rd of 2007, a singer from California named Sara Bareilles released her first record, titled Little Voice, on a major label. Aaron Gleeman approved a live video version of her hit song, Love Song, on his blog back in late November. That was the first time I had heard her music, and although it’s not really my type, I kind of liked it. After listening to some more of her songs, I came to the realization that nearly every one of her songs is pretty dang good. I was, puzzled, to say the least, when I found out that she would be at a Best Buy store in Richfield, Minnesota, on Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (coincidentally, a day I didn’t have school). Long story short, I made the trip down there with a few friends and watched her perform two songs live, and then got to meet her and get an autograph and a couple pictures. This is all pretty cheesy, but it was my first time actually meeting someone that I consider famous. So I’d like to share the experience..first, the video that was made to highlight her stop at Best Buy: (hint…at the shot around 4:08 you can see all 3 guys that I went with, plus the guy just in front of us in line, but not me…I guess I’m too short) 

 

now, the picture that I got with her:

l_966bbda5657f862486d01c6eba6a6906

 

I was pretty nervous, thus the goofy smile. And lastly, the autographed CD/insert cover that I got:

CD auto

 

I suggest checking out her single, Love Song, on iTunes or any other one of the million places you can hear it.

 

So yeah, I just wanted to share that and now I’ll leave you with an awesome quote that Torii Hunter said waaaay back in December 2003: (taken from sethspeaks.net)

When asked about LaTroy Hawkins signing with the Cubs (without the Twins even making him an offer!), Hunter said:

“You’d think we could have afforded that. I think we’re forgetting who we’re dealing with here. Joe Nathan is no LaTroy Hawkins. He might be a good pitcher, but LaTroy has proven himself here, and he’s a chemistry guy.”

At the time it probably wasn’t unreasonable for Torii to say that, but looking back, it’s just hilarious (thanks goes to Nick for that line).

