I’m writing (typing) this with a limited amount of time, and it’s not on the computer I usually use. Plus, I wasn’t able to watch the game, so I apologize for how bad this might end up.

 

The Twins shutout Detroit yesterday afternoon 7-0 behind Nick Blackburn‘s 7 very strong innings, in which he allowed just 3 hits.

Delmon Young collected 3 hits, two of them for doubles, and Joe Mauer went 2-for-4.

 

I did see a defensive replay on ESPN of a diving Nick Punto stop and succeeding shovel toss to Alexi Casilla to get a third out at second base. With a runner on third, it definitely saved a run, but I have to think that the Tigers scoring one run would not have made that big of a difference. Still, it’s only more proof that Punto may be one of the best defensive players in the league, considering he can do it from any spot in the infield (this particular play was made as a shortstop; his [arguably] most memorable play came nearly a year ago on July 4th, 2007, as a second baseman).

 

I’m going on a mini-vacation at a place with no internet and thus won’t be able to put anything new up here until Monday the 7th, at the earliest. Have a great 4th of July weekend, everybody.

