A reporter asked our potential Opening Day center fielder how he thought he could handle playing in the Dome. His response?

“If Torii Hunter can catch the ball there, why can’t I catch it there?”

But wait, it gets better.

“They don’t have no speed like me. I know I can help this team. Especially when I hit ahead of [Justin] Morneau and the catcher and the other guy.”

He actually referred to Joe Mauer and Michael Cuddyer as “the catcher and the other guy”. I crack a smile every time I read this.

“They will all have more RBIs,”

His speed is hereditary:

“My dad was fast,” Gomez said. “When I was a kid and I worked out with my older friends, they all worked out so hard for their running. I do nothing. They say, ‘Why are you so fast when you don’t do nothing?’ I tell them that my dad was fast.”

 

He just may have the attitude this team needs. The Twins have been infatuated with players who are nice, respectable, and play the game the “right way”. Not that there is anything wrong with that, but what do people want most from their hometown team? Making sure the clubhouse has a friendly atmosphere or huge home runs and lots of wins? Is it wrong for me to think of Delmon Young and Carlos Gomez as our own Minnesota Bash Brothers? Between throwing a bat at an umpire and, well, see above for what Gomez thinks, they may have the fire and drive to lift the team. I’m not saying that just these two can bring us a World Series Championship but they are definitely the cornerstones. Well, along with Morneau, the catcher, and the other guy.

 

Random: I had a dream last night that saw Pat Neshek get traded. In the dream, I even went to his website and he wrote up a long entry on how he was sad to leave the Twins. The dream didn’t include the player(s) we got in return, but it could probably be classified as a nightmare instead of a dream; losing Pat would hurt the team’s bullpen immensely.

 

 

All quotes taken from http://www.twincities.com/twins/ci_8469179